There is a plaque by the door saluting our Calvinist heritage going back to 1734. While there may be trees of that vintage rooted in the foundations, the actual building does not go back that far…or, at least, not the bricks and mortar. But “the Lord’s not in the lumber”. And that is true: God is in the hearts and minds of this congregation.
The names of those in the pews today hearken back to early days of German settlements and Scots pioneers, augmented by waves of immigration recently fortified by hearty doses of proud new Nova Scotians: Come From Aways who have seen the light and know it rises in the East! All are happy to be part of this church; small, but mighty member of the iconic three.
Trinity is the one without a steeple. After decades of storm damage, in the 1920’s, the spire sagged. The repair bill was considered too high and practicality topped vanity for the thrifty Methodists and Presbyterians who had just become the United Church of Canada. To this day, we remain spire-less, yet tireless in our faith!